Writing is taught using the Talk4Writing programme. The three stages of the process imitate, innovate and independent application are followed through in each unit of work. Fiction and non-fiction units are taught every half term. The core texts, as detailed in the curriculum map, have been planned and approved by the literacy team to ensure there is progression and challenge across each year, building upon texts learnt in previously.

Each year group study a range of fiction genres each year. The curriculum is mapped to ensure that each genre is covered across the year groups.

In EYFS they also follow the same Talk4Writing programme with a clearer focus on children ‘imitating’ and internalising the text, slowly building up to more independent writing. In both Nursery and Reception non-fiction and fiction text types are covered. Traditional tales provide the starting point for much of the literacy content.

The fiction text genres are:

  • A wishing story
  • A defeating the monster story
  • A losing story
  • A warning story
  • A suspense story
  • A journey/adventure story
  • A rags to riches/change story
  • A fantasy/portal story

Each year group covers each of the six genres of non-fiction text types every year.

The non-fiction text genres are:

  • Instructions
  • Persuasion
  • Discussion
  • Recount
  • Report
  • Explanation


Children learn each core text using actions and maps to help them internalise the language structure.


Once children have internalised the core text they are then able to change aspects of it in order to create their own story using the structures of the original.

Independent Application

Children use what they have learnt to create their own story.